Toro Sashimi

2015-07-19 10.50.01

We felt like we hit the jackpot. A little while ago I was doing my irregular visit to the fishmarket. I walked past the sashimi section and noticed blue fin tuna was on sale. Yellow fin is on sale every day so this was a little unusual. I also thought all the blue fin would be exported or not sold at the retail level. Guess it was in season. The one thing that caught my eye wasn’t that it was blue fin on sale.

Afterall, at $90 per kg, it wasn’t cheap. Nor is tuna our favourite sashimi – it is a little meaty. We normally prefer salmon or king fish, both of which are a lot more cheaper. Yellow fin is normally about $60. What caught my eye was the lighter pinker pieces of meat amongst the red chunks. It looked like toro to me. I wasn’t sure if that was the right price or if the server didn’t realise accidentally placed the prime meat. I quickly scooped up a whole block. As it turned out, next door was selling blue fin at $80 per kilo and toro at $140 per kg (and the colour suggests that it was a lower grade).

I got home and we ate it quickly. It certainly melted away in our mouth and we thought it was at least mid grade. I kicked myself for not buying them all up. We want to think that our block of $12 has a restaurant value of at least $50 and only when available.

Now it would have been heaven if real wasabi was also on sale.

2015-07-19 12.29.57

Leave a Reply

