Roots ‘n All

I don’t listen to radio much, but when I do, I try to listen to a few programs. This is one of them: Roots ‘n All, a program on Triple J. The edition of 7/3 was fantastic and hopefully by the time you get to this post, it is still on the net:

https://radio.abc.net.au/programitem/pe5DBjaGrD?play=true

If not, the normal format is still great. This particular episode was hosted by John Butler, who is a famous Australian roots artist himself. The following with his Trio is my most favourite of his songs.

This program starts at 10pm. It used to be on Thursday. I used to drive W home, when we were dating, at this time and this program would be on and it introduced me to a different world of roots, ragae, soul and other genres of music.

I remember when they played first played Rodrigo Y Gabriela. It totally blew me away. They must have played it 3 weeks in a row, and I just had to tune in to figure out the name of the band and track them down. If you don’t know who they, they have a wonderful story of being a couple of Mexicans, ex mental players who were just busking around Ireland and were found. R plays lead guitar. G plays guitar as well but as bass or as percussion – she literally bangs on her guitar like a set of drums – a technique she learnt from Flamingo, I think. Even since then they are on constant touring. This piece just somehow mutated from metal to Brubeck’s Take Five.

As is the case, they have so much more energy live.

Leave a Reply

